The Three Levels of Communication in the Bhagavadgita


Symbolism of the Bhagavadgita: There are three layers of communication hidden in the Bhagavadgita. First, between a psychic Sanjaya and a spiritually blind king Dhritarashtra. Second, between psychic Sanjaya on the one side and Krishna and Arjuna on the other. Third, between Krishna and Arjuna. The first one is sensory communication. The second one extra sensory. The third one is transcendental. Reading the Bhagavadgita comes under the first. Intuitively knowing its significance comes under the second. Realizing its wisdom through direct experience (pratyaksha) falls under the third. Dhritarashtra is the ego. Sanjaya is the intelligence. Arjuna, the individual Self. Krishna, the Supreme Self. Thus in the battlefield called the body (kshetra) the divine conversation between these entities goes on continuously as you observe life from different perspectives and in different states of consciousness.

Bhagavadgita Complete Translation

One of the most comprehensive commentaries without sectarian bias

Buy Now

Essays on the Bhagavadgita

A comprehensive analysis of Bhagavadgita Wisdom and philosophy

Buy Now

yadā yadā hi dharmasya glānir bhavati bhārata
abhyutthānam adharmasya tadātmānaṃ sṛjāmy aham

"O Bharata, whenever there is a decline of virute
and ascendanceof evil, then I surely manifest Myself .

Presented by